Book Referral: Pretty Boy Dead

It’s a bit rare that I like a story so much to recommend it. This is one of those times. I’m a realist and have trouble suspending believe, something often expected of the public regardless if it’s a reader or TV watcher or movie attendee. Quite frankly, in my opinion, there’s a lot of crap out there.

As a retired police officer I avoid police and legal type entertainment, especially books, because TV and movies get it wrong and most authors (my opinion) get their police and legal scenes from those sources, ergo, crap. I dislike characters who leap tall buildings with a single bound (a line for the old Superman TV show).

Author Jon Michaelsen got it right. He did research to validate his police scenes while innoculating his thriller with hooks to keep you reading (my opinion). I met Jon via a now-deceased e-publisher (the company; not the owner). Jon and I live 3,000 miles away and know each other via publishing, so I can say we’re friendly but not friends. Even if we were friends, I’d give my honest opinion. If I thought his book was crap I’d say so (politely) or say nothing. Jon’s characters are well-done whether you love or hate them. I think you’ll like this mystery. You’ll be glad you read it!

Bottom line: Pretty Boy Dead is a wonderful book and kept me turning pages. As an author, I put off my work to read Jon’s. That’s a rare event. The publisher’s blurb is accurate so I won’t repeat it here except for the opening:

A murdered (gay) male stripper. A missing go-go dancer. A city councilman on the hook. Can Atlanta homicide detective Sergeant Kendall Parker solve the heinous crime and remain safely behind the closet door?

Here’s the link: http://www.wildecity.com/books/product/pretty-boy-dead-a-kendall-parker-mystery/#.UnwqeI3pYZ5

Leave a Reply

